Fraser Coast Regional Council logoFraser Coast Regional Council

Media releases Media releases

Stay up to date with the latest Council media releases below.

« Back

Council division boundaries could change

27 February, 2019

The Fraser Coast Regional Council’s divisional boundaries could change ahead of the election on March 28, 2020.

Fraser Coast Mayor George Seymour said under the Local Government Act, Council was required to review whether each of its divisions had a ‘reasonable proportion of electors’, which means the number of voters in each division need to be within 10 per cent of each other.

“Council will notify the Local Government Minister that three of our 10 divisions fall outside the parameters for a reasonable proportion of electors,” Cr Seymour said.

“Following Council’s notification, the Minister may recommend changes to the independent Local Government Change Commission, who will consider whether the changes are in the public interest.”

The number of voters in Division 3, which stretches from the Bruce Highway in the west to the Mary River in the south and Saltwater Creek in the north, is 11 percent lower than the average.

Division 5, which stretches from Nikenbah to Burrum Heads and incorporates the emerging coastal centres of Craignish, Dundowran Beach and Toogoom, has 10 per cent more voters than average.

Similarly, the number of voters in Division 8, which stretches from Susan River to Eli Waters, is 13 per cent more voters than the average.

The last revision of voting numbers was undertaken by the Local Government Change Commission in 2015.

In addition to notifying the Minister of the results of a review of elector numbers, Council will recommend to that the 10 divisions and number of Councillors stay the same, and that we continue to use polling booths rather than a postal ballot.