Fraser Coast Regional Council logoFraser Coast Regional Council

Executive Management Team Executive Management Team

The Executive Management Team is made up of the Chief Executive Officer and four Directors.

It provides advice to Council and is responsible for co-ordinating the day-to-day management of the region. 

The Team monitors and facilitates the implementation of service delivery and major projects.

Ken Diehm, Chief Executive Officer - Commencing mid June

Ken Diehm was appointed as the new Chief Executive Officer at a Special Meeting held on Monday, 24 April 2017.

Ken has been the Chief Executive Officer of the City of Greater Geraldton since April 2013 and has more than 31 years of local government experience.

Ken’s experience includes a wide range of management positions in both the financial management and infrastructure fields, as well as executive roles which include the CEO of Willows Sports Complex Joint Board, Managing Director of a Business National, CEO of NQ Water, and Director of Townsville Water and Waste Services.

In addition to his role as CEO of the City of Greater Geraldton, Ken is a Board member and Treasurer of both Regional Capitals Australia and the Western Australia Regional Capitals Alliance, a former Board member of the Local Government Managers Association Australia WA, an Advisory Board member of the University of Western Australia’s Centre for Regional Development, and Deputy President of the Australian Chinese Business Council Midwest Branch WA.

Ken has a Bachelor of Commerce Degree, a Masters Degree in Business Administration, a Masters Degree in Dispute Resolution, a Graduate Diploma from the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Cerrtificate IV in Real Estate Agency Practice, and is a Prince2 Certified Project Management Practitioner.  

Ken’s personal and career goal is to make a positive difference in the community he serves and in the lives of the people he works with.


Ray Burton, Interim Chief Executive Officer

Ray Burton has worked in local government for 40 years, 24 of those as CEO. These CEO roles include eight years at Townsville City Council, six years at Pine Rivers Shire Council and 10 years at Bendigo City Council in Victoria. 

Ray was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2015 for services to local government and won the Public Institute of Australia Public Sector Professional of the Year award for Queensland in 2012.

Ray holds a Master of Business Administration and tertiary qualifications in local government and accounting. He is a Fellow of the Local Government Managers Australia and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ray is currently a Director on the Board of Local Government Managers Australia – Qld and has previously held a number of Board Director positions with organisations including National Local Government Managers Australia, the Brisbane North Institute of TAFE and the Pine Rivers Bendigo Bank Community Bank.

In mid-2016 Ray was appointed by the Director General, Department of Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning for a three month project as a Governance Advisor to the Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council and has recently completed an Acting CEO role at the North Burnett Regional Council.


Peter Care, Director – Wide Bay Water & Waste Services

Wide Bay Water and Waste Services is responsible for providing water, sewerage and waste collection services to all households and businesses across the Fraser Coast region. 

Peter has more than 30 years of experience in the Australasian water industry and has been involved in the planning, design, construction, operation and maintenance of several innovative water and wastewater infrastructure projects.

Peter is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and sits on a number of water industry groups within Australia.


Nigel Greenup, Acting Director - Community and Development

The role of Community and Development Services is to provide programs, facilities and spaces for healthy and diverse communities.  

The directorate also encourages and facilitates development to enhance the liveability of the region which is balanced by the Local Government’s role of implementing the appropriate regulatory framework.

Nigel holds a diploma in horticulture, a diploma in park management, a Bachelor of Applied Science and a Master’s degree in Environmental & Business Management and has extensive experience in local government in both NSW and Qld with Kiama, Grafton City, Byron Shire, Clarence Valley and Gold Coast City Councils and with the NSW state government including positions at Bathurst District, Grafton, Lord Howe Island and the Tweed.


Alexis Hill

Alexis Hill, Director - Organisational Services
Organisational Services is responsible for providing a smart, sustainable and customer focused organisation, through a highly skilled and motivated workforce.  Through the areas of People Development, Information Management, Corporate Business, Financial Services and Fleet and Procurement this vision is achieved. 

Alexis Hill holds a Bachelor of Business, is a graduate of the Company Directors Course and has 10 years experience in both local government and the private sector across New South Wales and Queensland.


Davendra Naidu,  Director - Infrastructure Services
The Infrastructure Services Directorate is responsible for the planning, design, construction and maintenance of road,  drainage and other infrastructure projects to meet the requirements of a rapidly developing region.  

Davendra Naidu holds a Master of Engineering  Management, Bachelor of Engineering (Civil), and Diploma in Civil Engineering & Construction.  Davendra has 20 years’ experience in Civil/Structural engineering and has worked in local government for the last 15 years including 6 years as Deputy Director of the former Maryborough City Council's Department of Engineering.