Mayor and Councillors

Council is made up of the Mayor and ten Councillors who are elected by the community every four years to represent the views of residents within the region.

Under the Local Government Act 2009, it is the role of Councillors to determine strategic objectives and adopt a policies framework in order to lead Council into the future.

Our elected representatives are decisive, display strong leadership, promote the positive attributes and opportunities of the Fraser Coast, foster positive relationships and form cohesive partnerships with all tiers of government to benefit the community. 

Division boundaries have changed and will be in effect from March 2020. More information on boundary changes is available on the ECQ website.

2020 Local Government Election results

The Electoral Commission of Queensland have declared the following results:

Fraser Coast Regional Council
Mayor - SEYMOUR, George Nathan
Division 1 Councillor - HANSEN, James Victor
Division 2 Councillor - TRUSCOTT, Philip Neil
Division 3 Councillor - TRUSCOTT, Paul Michael
Division 4 Councillor - SANDERSON, Daniel Elliott
Division 5 Councillor - WELLINGS, Jade-Lee
Division 6 Councillor - LEWIS, David John
Division 7 Councillor - EVERARD, Darren Peter
Division 8 Councillor - CHAPMAN, Denis Robert
Division 9 Councillor - LEE, David John Lawson
Division 10 Councillor - O'KEEFE, Zane Ashley

Congratulations to Mayor George Seymour and the Councillors. Visit ECQ's page for more information.

Mayor and Councillors

Committees and Reference Groups

Councillors are appointed to represent Council on a number of committees and reference groups.

Councillor Council Committee External Committees and Organisations
Cr George Seymour (Mayor)

- Heritage Advisory Committee

- Chamber of Commerce (Hervey Bay) (proxy)
- Roads and Transport Alliance
- Wide Bay Burnett Regional Organisations of Councils (WBBROC)
- Wide Bay Burnett Regional Roads and Transport Group
- Regional Capital Australia

Cr James Hansen



- Rural Fire Brigades
- Tiaro and District Landcare Group
- Wide Bay Burnett Regional Organisation of Councils (observer)
- Mary River Catchment Coordinating Committee

Cr Phil Truscott

- Audit and Risk Committee
- Regional Arts Development Fund Committee

- Maryborough and District Committee on the Ageing
- Chamber of Commerce (Tiaro)
- Tiaro and District Landcare Group
- Mary to Bay Rail Trail Advisory Committee

Cr Paul Truscott

- Wide Bay Water and Waste Services Advisory Committee
- Sister Cities/Friendship City Community Committee

- Chamber of Commerce (Maryborough) (proxy)
- Maryborough and District Committee on the Ageing (proxy)

Cr Daniel Sanderson

- Sister Cities/Friendship City Community Committee

- Chamber of Commerce (Maryborough)

Cr Jade Wellings

- Fraser Coast Inclusive Access Advisory Committee

- Hinkler Regional Deal PLT (observer)

- Community Consultation Group (Hinkler Deal)

- Customer Experience Reference Group

- Fraser Coast Events Advisory Committee


- Chamber of Commerce (Hervey Bay)
- Ted and Maud Montgomery Vine Forest - Management Committee

Cr David Lewis


- Wide Bay Regional Planning Advisory Committee
Cr Darren Everard - Wide Bay Water and Waste Services Advisory Committee
- Fraser Coast Regional Events Committee

- Roads and Transport Alliance
- Wide Bay Burnett Regional Organisations of Councils (WBBROC)

Cr Denis Chapman  

- Wide Bay Regional Roads Group
- Fraser Coast Inclusive Communities Action Team (observer)


Cr David Lee

- Audit and Risk Committee
- Wide Bay Water and Waste Services Advisory Committee

- Mary to Bay Rail Trail Advisory Committee
Cr Zane O'Keefe

- Inclusive Access Advisory Committee
- Audit and Risk Committee
- Traffic Advisory Committee


Complaints and Investigations

Code of Conduct

Councillors Discretionary Fund

For more information on the Councillors Discretionary Fund

Mayor's Community Benefit Fund

Objects and Purpose

The objects and purpose for which the Fund is established are to:

  • respond to  needs  beneficial to the community; 
    • directly or indirectly providing for the relief of poverty, sickness, suffering, distress, misfortune, disability or helplessness to people in the community;
    • directly or indirectly providing relief to people in necessitous circumstances; and
    • planning for and assisting underprivileged or neglected children and families, people who are unemployed, single parents, people with a disability, the sick, the infirm, the aged and others in need of assistance.
  • Assist community organisations and groups in order to pursue charitable purposes and/or other activities beneficial to the community;
  • emergency support situations, including essential food items, emergency accommodation and/or repairs for life-threatening situations; and
  • do anything incidental or helpful to either of the above.

Examples that may be funded from the Mayor’s Community Benefit Fund include local Flood Appeals, donations to individuals in necessitous circumstances e.g. House fire victims or large donations to recognised community groups/foundations/hospitals.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Applications may be made on a needs basis at any time to the Mayor’s Community Benefit Fund.
  2. Any decisions to allocate funding under the Mayor’s Community Benefit Fund will be considered and approved by a committee, by majority decision, consisting of the Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Chief Executive Officer.
  3. All funds donated are kept in a Council Trust Account.
  4. The maximum donation to any recipient from the Mayor’s Community Benefit Fund is $1,000.
  5. Funding cannot be provided under this Fund for the replacement of items that can be covered by insurance.
  6. Other funding sources are not available or appropriate for the purpose.

Donations to the Fund

Donations to the fund are not tax-deductible and can be made by forwarding a cheque to the:-

Mayor’s Community Benefit Fund
Fraser Coast Regional Council
PO Box 1943

Or by donating at one of Council’s three Customer Service areas located at:-

  • Hervey Bay - 77 Tavistock Street, Torquay, Qld, 4655
  • Maryborough - 431-433 Kent Street, Qld, 4650
  • Tiaro - Forgan Terrace, Qld, 4650

Reporting: Total Donations received and funds distributed will be reported in the Council’s Annual Report with a confidential detailed report provided to Councillors.

Expenses Reimbursement and Provision of Facilities

The Expenses Reimbursement and Provision of Facilities for Mayor and Councillors Policy (320kB) authorises the payment of reasonable expenses incurred by Councillors and outlines resources available to assist Councillors in their duties and responsibilities.  These include:

Expenses -  vehicle usage, conference registrations, accommodation, meals, travel expenses and telecommunications; and
Resources - administrative support staff, computer/iPad3, printer, modem and smartphone.

This policy applies to the Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors and is made in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Regulation 2012.