Council welcomes new Heritage Advisory Committee members


Heritage committee wharf street 002

An architect, managers of two museums and historians have been appointed to the Fraser Coast Heritage Advisory Committee.

Councillor David Lewis said the committee provides advice and recommendations to Council on heritage matters for the Fraser Coast.

“There are many magnificent heritage buildings and sites across the region, and having locals with a love and passion for history on the committee means we can be proactive in saving and safeguarding these sites for future generations,” he said.

“Our historical sites are a part of our heritage and help create a sense of place, a sense of belonging and give us the character that is the Fraser Coast.

“The committee also has an important role helping Council administer the Fraser Coast Heritage Incentive Scheme under which we offer grants of up to $10,000 for owners of heritage properties to conserve and enhance their properties and streetscapes.”

The new members are:

  • Ms Marian Graham;
  • Mr Ken Brooks;
  • Mr Ken Ashford;
  • Mr John Andersen;
  • Ms Lisa Stewart;
  • Mr Brian Kelleher, and;
  • Dr Tina King.

The committee includes two Councillors David Lewis (chair) and Cr George Seymour.

“We look forward to working with the committee to preserve and enhance our heritage and historic sites,” Cr Lewis said.